No-Knead Bread

Need some good bread for less than $4 a loaf? Check this out!


I have been trying to get some extra practice with yeast. After making six loaves of brioche over a month I had to take a break, but now I’m back. And I didn’t feel like kneading anything. I was browsing around the interwebs and the cookbooks I have and I found this no-knead bread recipe. I have to say, it can’t get much easier than this. If you don’t have too much time and love some good bread you are in the right place.

I was making this on Sunday, which is usually the time K and I spend together and I try not to do any projects because I just like his company much more. I managed to make this bread without any interruptions in our day together and in the evening as I was taking the warm loaves out of the oven we were both ecstatic. We ate half of a loaf while it was still steaming with cheese, and butter, and jam, and honey. It was fabulous.

Delicious slices. 1 cm. Hard to resist.In the morning, while washing the cups from our coffee I put the ingredients together in the biggest bowl I own, covered it with a towel, and left it on the counter. We went out for the day, roamed the city, and when we came back home in the evening the dough was ready for baking. I made two loaves out of the dough and let them rest, a total of about 10 minutes. Then it’s just a matter of putting them in the oven and baking them up. The most difficult part is making sure you don’t burn yourself taking the loaves out of the oven and trying to cut while they are still hot.

No Knead Bread

  • 3 cups lukewarm water
  • 1 ½ tbsp active dry yeast (2 envelopes)
  • 1 ½ tbsp salt
  • 6 ½ cups all-purpose flour

Use the biggest bowl you have for this because the dough will rise quite a bit. (I used a 5.5QT bowl and it raised up to the very top.) Mix together the water yeast and salt and stir together. Let sit for a few minutes while you measure the flour out. Then dump all the flour in at the same time and stir everything together with a wooden spoon. Stir just until all of the flour streaks are gone. You don’t have to overdo it, just even out the mixture and set it aside. Cover the bowl with a towel and set on the counter to rest.

After a few hours when the dough has inflated all the way and deflated a bit it is ready. At this point you can either bake it or store in the refrigerator for future use.

When you are ready to bake flour your hands to prevent sticking and pull off about a grapefruit sized ball of the dough. Pull the sides of the dough down the ball and tuck underneath. It won’t look perfectly neat but that won’t matter. Allow to rise for about 40 minutes on a board dusted with flour or corn meal to prevent sticking. (If you have chilled the dough in the fridge, allow it to rise for longer, until it has come up to room temperature.)

20 minutes before you are ready to bake start heating the oven at 450°F. Place a pan on the bottom rack and a pizza stone (or a cast iron skillet) in the middle to heat up. After the 2o minutes even if the oven has not reached temperature you can place the loaf inside. Dust the loaf with flour and slash the top about ¼ inch deep. Slide the loaf onto the pizza stone and pour about a cup of water into the pan at the bottom. Quickly shut the oven door to keep the steam in. If you need to check the baking process use the light instead of opening the door. Bake for about 30 to 40 minutes, or until the top has a nice brown crust.

Allow to cool before slicing.

WARNING: Seriously, allow to cool at least for a bit before slicing. The bread is full of steam when it comes out and if you cut it right away the steam will burn you.

I ended up with two medium loaves from this batch. Next time I think I want to make a bunch of dinner rolls as well. Nom-nom-nom.

Thick, crunchy crust, and a soft chewy center.

About majathebee
When planning dinner, my first idea is dessert.

Leave a Reply

