Chicago Cheesecake Bars

Love cheesecake? Check.
Love chocolate? Check
Love sweets? Check
Then you must also love this:

Yup. You can make this and eat it very very soon.

First, some commentary. I am not a HUGE fan of chocolate. Don’t get me wrong, I like it, but I don’t think I could sustain on it solely. This recipe calls for a significant layer of chocolate on top. When I make this next time I am going to make it with half of the volume of chocolate. I feel that the chocolate flavor overwhelms the cheesecake and I prefer to be able to taste all of the parts. I think that any chocolate lover should just use the regular volume and they will be in heaven.

Chicago Cheesecake Bars

Crust

1 ½ cups crushed graham cracker cookies (or your favorite dry cookie)
3 tbsp packed brown sugar
6 tbsp melted butter

In a food processor turn your cookies into fine even crumbs. Mix cookies & sugar together. Add butter and stir until combined. Press mixture into a 13×9-inch pan. Set aside.

Cheesecake Filling

3 (8 oz.) packages of cream cheese, softened (for less fat you can use Neufchatel cheese instead)
1 cup sugar
2 tbsp flour
3 eggs
8 oz. sour cream
1 tbsp. vanilla

Preheat oven to 325°F.

Cream the sugar, cream cheese and flour with an electric mixer on medium until light and fluffy. On medium low add eggs one at a time. Add sour cream and vanilla and mix until just combined. Pour into prepared crust and bake for about 45 minutes. Remove and cool.

Prepare ganache when the cake is cooled since it will firm up as it stands.

Ganache Topping

  • 8 oz. heavy whipping cream
  • 2 oz. butter
  • 8 oz. semi-sweet chocolate
  • ¼ cup confectioners’ sugar

If using a bar of chocolate, chop it and place into a medium heatproof bowl. Heat cream and butter on medium heat on the stove until just boiling. Remove cream from heat and pour over the chocolate. Allow to sit for about a minute and then stir until completely combined. Add sugar and mix with a wire whisk until well blended and smooth.
Pour ganache over the cooled cheesecake. Cover the pan and refrigerate overnight or at least 4 hours for the chocolate to firm up. Cut into bars and serve.

This dessert is very strong, so I strongly recommend cutting it into smaller pieces. I started with squares of about 2 inches and scaled down by cutting them into 1×2-inch bars. And I do have a confession to make: It is addictive! Usually when I make desserts I eat them on the first day only. Sometimes on the second day, but after that I want to make something new and am giving away the rest. Or forcing poor K to eat it all. These bars on the other hand, I am still eating 5 days later. I am sad that we are running out.


But hope springs eternal, soon I will be able to make something else. Maybe Tiramisu?

About majathebee
When planning dinner, my first idea is dessert.

Leave a Reply

