Lisbon Treats

I’ve spent a lot of time making chocolate desserts lately (not that I have posted any of them mind you), but I realize that chocolate is overwhelming most of the time. Don’t get me wrong, I like chocolate, but not enough to want to eat it for months on end. It’s summer and I wanted to eat something silly and pink, and fresh tasting.

I’ve also spent way too much time reading Bakerella’s posts about different cake pops. And now I want to make some. Though since there are no children around I will opt for bites as opposed to pops. They turned out so lovely that I am posting this immediately.

Bakerella recommends using a mix for these pops to make the job easier. And I have to say, I can’t disagree here. With so many steps after just baking the cake I am on her side. I love cooking from scratch, but if I was going to do a test recipe I wasn’t going to spend an hour picking out and making a cake. She recommends using a red velvet cake, but since I wanted to get away from an all chocolate flavor I opted for the extra moist strawberry mix. The result was very good, and it tastes and smells so pretty that I just kept eating the cake by itself while I was making the bites. On with the show then.

Lisbon Treats

1 boxed cake mix (red velvet is recommended, but I used strawberry)
1 tub of frosting 16 oz. (I used 50% less sugar frosting)
1 lb dark chocolate (I had less than an entire bar of dark Trader Joe’s Pound Plus)
sprinkles

Bake the cake according to box instructions and allow to cool completely. You can cut it into pieces if to speed up cooling if you are in a rush. When cooled, crumb the cake by hand, or run through the food processor a few pieces at a time. This gives you fluffy even crumbs. Pour into a large bowl and process the entire cake. Add the entire 16 ounces of frosting to the crumbs and mix well. You can either use a large spoon or your hands.I like working with more solid materials, so I after mixing I placed the bowl into the fridge for about 10 minutes. In the meantime I cleaned up and got the pan and parchment paper ready. I feel this stiffens the mixture to allow for easier handling.

With an ice cream scoop, (or by eye if you’re good) make 1 inch balls from the cake mixture and line them up on a parchment covered sheet pan. Place into the fridge for a few hours, or into the freezer for 20 minutes. In the meantime prepare the chocolate.

Temper your chocolate for dipping. There are tons and tons of tutorials for this process so I won’t waste your time. Prepare your paper liners, by putting them into a mini cupcake pan to keep their shape. Set up your workstation. Depending on whether you are a righty or lefty you can set it up this way or in reverse. From your left to the right line up your supplies: pan of cake balls, bowl of melted chocolate, pan with paper liners in it. This way you can use your right (clean) hand to pick up the cake balls, put them into the chocolate, with your left hand coat the ball with the chocolate and pick it up and place into a paper liner, with clean hand add some sprinkles to the top of the ball. Repeat. (I always had a hole in the chocolate where I picked up the ball and you could see the cake inside. Don’t fret. Just rub your chocolaty fingers over the ball until it looks pretty.)

Allow the treats to cool and harden. And then let loose. Look how cute they are! Believe me they taste just as good. With the snapping dark chocolate outside and soft strawberry centers.

The center remains nice and soft and the chocolate hardens into a hard snap. Delicious!

About majathebee
When planning dinner, my first idea is dessert.

Leave a Reply

