Berry Cold Cream

I’m not really sure this qualifies as ice cream but I will tell you that it is DELICIOUS. If you like light refreshing ice cream and don’t want to buy an ice cream maker and then wait forever for the core to freeze, the maker to churn, and then chill some more, then you’re in luck. If you have two ingredients, a food processor and one minute you too can make an amazing dessert.

So, how about it? You got the time and desire to eat this. Let me tell you, I have no idea why I’m not making some right now instead of typing this. This takes berries and cream to a brand new level. You can put any kind of berry in there. I found some delicious looking blueberries at Whole Foods and thought that they would turn very easily into a fresh summer dessert, but I think that berries should be slightly tart, so using just blueberries is not going to have that bite. So I added some raspberries I had in the freezer.

On to the recipe. Don’t miss it, it’s super short.

Berry Cold Cream
½ cup whipping cream
1 tbsp sugar (powdered is better, but I put granulated since I was out of powdered)
1/2 cup blueberries
2 tbsp raspberries

Place all ingredients into a food processor or blender. Process for about 1 minute, until all the berries are pulverized and the cream has whipped. It will look like a mousse when ready. And you’re done.

NOTES: You can pour it into individual dishes or into a bowl and place in the freezer for a while to stiffen up. I did this since I made it before dinner was ready.I like seeing the berries in there so I stopped processing after only 45 seconds. The longer you process the more the berries will disappear and the cream will look more homogenous. And you can play around with the berry volumes. Put whatever you like in here. As always, colder cream whips better than warmer cream, so put the cream in the fridge along with the bowl and blade of your processor.

I still have some blueberries left, I think I’m gonna whip some up right now. 🙂 Happy cooking!

About majathebee
When planning dinner, my first idea is dessert.

Leave a Reply

