Pantry Goulash

There comes a day when I can’t think of anything to cook. I want dinner, but I’m just not moved to make anything specific. So I go looking through the cabinets and fridge and freezer to see what there is and what it could become. I just want to use up the random bits of groceries that have been lying around for a while. It clears my conscience from having to throw anything away and (usually) creates a delicious meal from seemingly nothing. Today was one of those days. I didn’t have a plan for anything that I wanted to make. I therefore did not want to go to the store and spend money on more groceries that I was not too excited about preparing.

Today I made goulash from pork.


As you can see, it turned out pretty good looking. And let me tell you, as it was finishing up I couldn’t stop tasting it. Hey, quality control, it’s important! Here is the recipe of what I made. I don’t know if it technically qualifies as a goulash, but since noone is here to argue I’m calling it that. (K had his mouth full so he didn’t have time to discuss the problems with the title.)

Pantry Goulash

½ lb. cubed pork (mine was the second half of a picnic roast I got a while ago, but I think any roast cut will do)
1 tbsp flour
2 tbsp oil
1 medium onion, diced
1 large package of sliced cremini mushrooms
2 garlic cloves, pressed through a garlic press
2 cups beef stock
¼ cup light sour cream
salt,
pepper,
2 tsp sweet hungarian paprika (I think hot would work well here as well)

Prepare all the vegetables ahead of time and set aside.

Salt and pepper the pork then roll each in flour covering every side lightly. Heat the oil in a heavy bottomed pot or dutch oven. spread the meat on the oil in one layer and brown evenly on each side (about 2 minutes per side). When browned, remove the meat from the pot and place under a foil tent on a plate. Add the onions and garlic to the remaining oil and sweat for a minute. Add mushrooms to the pot and salt, allowing the juices to run out of the mushrooms. Stir frequently to loosen the browned bits from the meat off the bottom of the pot. Allow to cook for about 10 minutes on medium-low heat until the mushrooms have released some juice.

Add the beef stock to the pot and allow to come to a boil. Return the meat with any collected juices to the pot and bring to a simmer on low heat. Simmer for about 1 hour, or until the meat is tender and cooked through completely. Add stock as necessary to keep the meat submerged. Taste for flavor and add any necessary salt and pepper; add the paprika. When the meat is cooked add the sour cream and mix through evenly.

Serve over pasta, noodles or spaetzle.

I served this over some rotini and it was delicious. The volume was just enough for two heaping plates.

I’m not that big on leftovers.

About majathebee
When planning dinner, my first idea is dessert.

Leave a Reply

