Wednesday Cake

In my dessert craving and after eating the half-batch of cookies I made in the beginning of the week I decided that it was time for cake. I wanted something simple that involved chocolate in some way. I ended up with a nice white cake with Nutella Swiss Meringue Buttercream (SMBC) frosting. I left it in the fridge for a night since it was done so late in the evening and just tried it today and it is DELICIOUS.

Now, below is a recipe for enough cake to make 2 9-inch cake layers and 4 cups of frosting. I made half of each since K is still in Germany and I was making one 7-inch single layer cake. This is the same cake recipe that I used for the Vanilla Cupcakes with Ganache Frosting. The main reason that I have to post this is the frosting. The reason I even crave this is the frosting and not the cake itself. In fact, don’t tell anyone, but after I frosted the cake some was left over and I just poured it from the piping bag into my face. It is that good!

I confess that I always get nervous when making SMBC. It’s all a dream while the eggs are getting fluffy. I make a perfect meringue and once the butter hits the scene everything goes to hell. I just think I don’t understand this part of baking. I am not used to butter based anything. I don’t get why anyone would want to eat stuff that is 80% butter. This frosting however, is really good and very low on the butter. I believe it is the minimal amount of butter that you can add per egg that keeps the frosting good. Okay, let’s get going.

Nutella Swiss Meringue Buttercream

4 large egg whites
pinch salt
1¼ cups sugar
1 cup butter (2 sticks) softened and cut into small pieces
½ cup Nutella (or more if you’re in the mood for more)

Put egg whites, salt and sugar into a double boiler on medium heat. Whisking constantly, heat until the sugar has melted and mixture has reached 160°F. Pour egg whites into the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with a whisk attachment. Beat on high until it forms stiff (but not dry) peaks. Continue beating until fluffy and cooled; about 7 minutes. Switch to the paddle attachment.

With mixer on medium-low, add butter one piece at a time, beating well after each addition. Increase speed to medium-high; continue beating until frosting appears thick; about 3 minutes. Reduce to low. Add Nutella a spoon-full at a time, mixing it up after each addition. Beat until incorporated.

It WAS as scrumptious as it looks.

Some tips for SMBC that just refuses to be good. I usually get it to a beautiful meringue and after I add the softened butter it turns into a bowl of white soup. The sight of it makes me want to cry, scream, throw my mixer, and ultimately spill it down the drain. Fight the last two urges if you get to them. Your ingredients and effort are not wasted. There is hope. When anything goes wrong with your SMBC just keep beating it. If it’s soupy, like mine gets, put it in the fridge for 10 minutes.

After I put half the butter in it all went south, but I just kept going with it and finished adding all the butter. When it was just a soup by then I put the whole bowl into the fridge with the beaters sitting in the egg/butter liquid. I do the dishes and clean up the kitchen a little and take everything out. Reattach the beaters and go for it. 4 minutes of beating later it’s beautiful and thick and smooth and asking for me to pour the Nutella in. So my tips are 1. keep mixing and 2. chill it a little.

If there was more frosting I would have piled it on top as well, it is SO good.

About majathebee
When planning dinner, my first idea is dessert.

Leave a Reply

