Yellow Cupcakes with Ganache Frosting

The recipe below is for two layers of a 9″ round cake. Since I wanted only a few cupcakes I made half of this recipe and used 2 eggs and 1 1/3 cups of flour without any adverse effects. I ended up with about 30 mini cupcakes I am estimating that with a full recipe from below you may have 24 regular size and 60 or so of mini cupcakes.

Yellow Cupcakes

¾ cup butter at room temperature
3 eggs (for the half batch I used 2)
2½ cups all-purpose flour (since there was more liquid now I used 1 1/3 cups flour)
2½ teaspoons baking powder
½ teaspoon salt
1¾ cups sugar
1½ teaspoons vanilla
1¼ cups milk

Allow butter and eggs to stand at room temperature for 30 minutes. Grease and flour two 9×1½-inch round cake pans (if you’re using a smaller diameter pan make sure that it is tall enough to compensate) or one 13x9x2-inch baking pan; set aside. If making cupcakes use paper liners or grease and flour the pan. In a bowl stir together flour, baking powder, and salt; set aside.

Preheat oven to 375°F. In a mixing bowl beat butter with a mixer on medium to high speed for 30 seconds. Gradually add sugar, beating until well combined. Beat 2 minutes more to fluff and cream the mixture. Add eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition. Beat in vanilla. Alternately add flour mixture and milk, beating on low speed until just combined. Spread batter into prepared pan(s). For cupcakes fill about half of the cup for perfectly filling cakes, or ¾ of the way if you want little edges. I’m a fan of cake that breaks free of the paper so I overfill all the time.

Happy cupcakes cooling in the breeze.

Bake for 20-25 minutes for the 9-inch pans, 30-35 minutes for 8-inch pans, 25-30 minutes for the 13x9x2-inch baking pan or until a wooden toothpick inserted near center comes out clean. For the mini cupcakes bake for 30-15 minutes, 15-18 for regular size cupcakes.

Cool cake layers in pans on wire racks for 10 minutes. Remove layers from pans; cool thoroughly on racks. Frost as desired.

For my frosting I used left over ganache from the chocolate cake a few weeks ago.

Ganache

8 oz. bittersweet chocolate
1 cup heavy whipping cream

Chop the chocolate into small pieces and place into a medium size bowl. In a medium pot heat the cream to boiling over medium heat to avoid burning. Once it reaches a boil pour cream over the chocolate and allow to stand for a couple of minutes. Starting in the center whisk slowly until the two are combined into a smooth texture.

If using as a glaze allow it to sit for a couple of minutes and then pour over cake. For whipping allow the ganache to come to room temperature and only when cooled place in the refrigerator and stir from time to time. After about an hour in the fridge it will firm up into a pudding-like consistency at which it can be piped, or whipped and then used as frosting. Allowing it to firm up completely another 2 hours it will be firm enough for using as centers of truffles.

For the cake I used it as unwhipped frosting. But I had made so much of it that there were two cups left over. After allowing it to firm up entirely I separated it into two zip-top bags, pushed as much air out and placed it into the freezer.

The morning I was making the cupcakes I knew that I was using the ganache as frosting. I moved it from the freezer to the kitchen counter and left it there most of the day. It slowly defrosted and became quite maleable. When the cupcakes were cool, I ripped the bag open and scrapped the ganache into a bowl and with an electric mixer whipped it up for about 5 minutes. It became lighter in colour and increased in volume. I pushed it all into a pastry bag and piped it in circles with a plan tip.

They weren’t winning any beauty prizes, but I will tell you that they were amazingly delicious. I will definitely have to use the cake recipe for an actual cake sometime. You can kind of notice in the pictures that the cupcakes poured over. This was pretty lucky for me because the best tasting part of the cupcakes is the edge that got browned and caramelized on the pan. Next time I make this I am not lining with paper so that they can brown on all sides.

From Better Homes and Gardens Cookbook

About majathebee
When planning dinner, my first idea is dessert.

2 Responses to Yellow Cupcakes with Ganache Frosting

  1. Tes says:

    Those cakes look yummy! I love the recipe. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

