Pesto Rolls

I am on a bread roll lately. I have been baking up brioche and rolls fairly often. I still have about a kilogram of dough sitting in my freezer waiting for a craving to strike. Tonight I thought I’d make something not so greasy and with tons of flavour. I felt like pesto. And this beautiful recipe gave me pesto nirvana. They were as delicious as they look and you can be sure that these rolls will be making their appearance with different fillings for years to come. First, feast your eyes on this:

And if you’ll just dab that little bit of drool off your chin I will let you know how you too can have this happening in your belly in no time at all.

Pesto Rolls

1/2 cup warm water
1/2 cup warm milk
1 egg slightly beaten
1/2 cup melted butter
2 tablespoons sugar
1 teaspoon salt
4 cups bread flour
1 packet (2 1/4 tsp) instant dry yeast
1/2 cup pesto
1/2 cup shredded Parmesan cheese

Into a microwave safe bowl pour water and milk, slice the butter into tablespoons and add into the bowl. Microwave the whole thing together and it will speed up the process. Stir together to allow butter to melt and pour into a large bowl. If you are using a KA mixer just pour into the mixer bowl. Into this add egg, sugar, and salt. Add 4 cups of flour on top of all the liquid mixture sprinkling yeast on top. Knead the dough until it is smooth and elastic, adding additional flour as needed. Place dough in a greased bowl and cover with a wet towel. Allow the dough to rise until doubled in size, approximately 1 hour in a warm, draft-free area.

Turn dough onto lightly floured surface and roll into a rectangle slightly larger than a 9×13 pan. Spread surface evenly with pesto and sprinkle shredded Parmesan cheese on top. Beginning with the long side, roll dough pinching the seam to seal. Cut into 12 equal slices and place them in a greased muffin tin, cut side up. Cover with a damp towel and allow to rise for 30 minutes. Preheat oven to 375°F. Bake for 20 minutes or until golden brown. Remove from muffin pan and serve warm.

For next day service heat the whole batch in the oven on a pan, or microwave individually for 10 seconds. I wish I could tell you what to do later than that, but they just did not last that long. K and I (okay, it was mainly me) ate the whole batch by the end of the second day.

Pesto Rolls on cooling rack

I used home made pesto I had in the freezer for a while and only made the dough this time around. If you’re short on time, you can use frozen dinner roll dough and pesto from a jar.

Note: I like my dough to be on the salty side, this recipe originally required only 1 tsp of salt.

Next time I think I am going to change the filling into something else. The rolls are so delicious and beautiful that I can’t imagine anything wouldn’t taste amazing. I would like to try some Prosciutto and gruyere cheese, or some lovely black olive tapenade. This recipe can easily be stretched out for a party by rolling the dough out in two smaller rectangles and baking the tiny rolls in a mini-muffin tin.

Original recipe was at SavorySweetLife.com

Fresh out of the oven and golden brown

About majathebee
When planning dinner, my first idea is dessert.

Leave a Reply

